On getting hit on.

I don't know about you, but she looks more uncomfortable than amused to me.

I’ve been working at the hotel for a couple of weeks now. It’s not a bad job by any means — nice coworkers, interesting guests, relatively easy work (with a lot of downtime for reading and blogging :) ).

When I first began there was a team of construction workers staying here. All of the guys were really nice and polite. Most I talked to on a regular basis — “hi, how are you? how’s work coming along?” kind of thing.

On their last night there, I was re-draping the linens on the tables in the lobby when one of them came in and, after I greeted him, told me I was just too sweet, always smiling and saying hello to everyone. I think my reply was “aw shucks“. I honestly think that’s the first time I used that in a sentence. It was just the first thing that came to mind.

But then he continued saying that I had to have a “naughty side”, what with my nose ring and all, and proceeded to invite me out for the night so he can get to know that side of me.

Now, I didn’t take offense to it or anything, and one of his coworkers had joined him at this point and was slowly leading him outside, so the encounter ended with me laughing and shaking my head at the two of them. But what did he expect? Me to jump up and say, “oh hells yea let’s show you some dirrty”?

I just don’t get it. Whatever happened to “hey, you seem like a nice girl, want to grab a drink so we can chat some more?” That sounds a whole lot better than “I bet you have some naughty inside of you.” It’s a lot less suggestive too.

I mean, my reaction is always the same, “Sorry, I have a boyfriend” (not to be confused with”I’m sorry I have a boyfriend”, because in these moments I’m reminded of how lucky I am to have found Joery), but regardless. Let’s class it up, men of America.

And please, remember that if you’re talking to a woman who is working in any kind of service industry (waitress, hotels, cashiers, strippers, etc.) she is being paid to be nice to you. So limit the come-ons to those that won’t embarrass her in front of her colleagues. Or just refrain. Because saying “hello” to everyone who enters the building is part of my job.

Leave a Reply

