Front desk faux pas

I had one two of those open-mouth-insert-foot moments at work the other day. It was only my second day on the job, so I was still getting to know everyone and wanted to make a good first impression (btw I work the front desk of a local hotel).

I decide that I should probably not stand around doing nothing while the general manager is working, so I grab the Windex and paper towel roll and head to the front doors to wash the windows. As I’m finishing the doors, the maintenance man goes around the front desk to chat with the GM in the office. Eventually, he wanders his way behind the desk and starts cleaning back there. So I’m in front of the desk cleaning the surfaces and he’s behind it scrubbing the side of the key card machine.

The key card machine is a hunk of plastic, probably 30 years old, with all these little grooves on the side where dirt has been accumulating for God knows how long. Since I pretty much finish with the counters, I take a paper towel and start scrubbing the other side of the machine. But I’m not nearly as effective as the maintenance man, so I say, “I don’t think I’m wet enough.

It probably wouldn’t have been so bad, until the maintenance man looks up and says, “I could say something pretty dirty now, but we just met so I won’t.”

My face turned bright red and I start giggling nervously. Of course, that’s when he looks at me and tells me, “I meant you could spit on it — where’s your mind at??”

Good first impression. It gets better.

At this point in time, the GM is standing next to the maintenance man. He also grabs a towel to start cleaning something behind the counter and hands it out for me to spray some cleaner on it. Of course, it sprays not only on the towel but also on the sleeve of his dress shirt. So he starts teasing me about asking me to spray the towel not his shirt. My response?

“Well, I can’t control where I squirt it.”

At this point the maintenance man is dying from laughter and even the GM couldn’t hold back. “Guess you’re not as innocent as you look.”

Luckily it’s a really nice work environment and everyone is really nice. Otherwise the maintenance man telling me to “behave myself today” every time he sees me would not be so funny.

2 thoughts on “Front desk faux pas

  1. Hahahahahah! *rolling over the floor laughing* (not such a good thing to do in the library probably)
    But hell yeah Karin!!! You dirty girl ;-)
    I knew you had it in you….
    So at least I smiled already once today

Leave a Reply

