Chunky beaded necklace

I’ve been on a necklace-making kick recently, though this is the first one I’ve made for myself. I think I’m going to wear it for a wedding I’m in at the end of the month — silver is the color of bridesmaids’ dresses. I just have to clear it with the bride first :)

I had these beads lying around, which came from both a container of assorted beads I bought a few months ago and an old collection of bracelets I never wore. All you do is put the beads on the pin (I’m so technical, I don’t know what they’re called… the pins that have a flat head so the beads don’t just slide off), twist a loop in the other end of the wire to close, re-open and slide it on the chain. I found it’s easier to close the loop and then open it again to slip it on the chain and then try to close it.

When putting the beads on the chain, I started with the two big beads in the center and then worked up each side. I had divided each of the beads into groups so I had even numbers and types on each side. Then I staggered the beads so it was a good mix of big and small ones. The loops in the chain are relatively small, so I could only attach one bead to each loop. To finish, add closures (I used a chain and lobster clasp).

I’m really happy with the end result. I just might trim the chain a little bit more so it falls nicely when I wear it. Chic, right?

After I finished this one, I was so happy with the result that I decided to make another one in black. I was watching TV and looping the wire through the beads when, while I was cutting the wire, my hand slipped and I cut off a bit of my finger. I kind of freaked out and Joery overreacted a bit — though he refused to look at it until we were actually at the hospital, so I think he thought it was worse than it was. It didn’t stop him from pacing around the room while we were waiting (where the hell is the doctor??). It probably wasn’t necessary to go to the hospital, but I couldn’t get it to stop bleeding and it really hurt. I ended up having to get a tetanus shot (note to the doctor who told me my arm would be numb the next day: numb is not the same as incredibly painful). Also, my hand is covered in gauze. Quite the fashion statement.

So remember your scissor safety whenever you begin a crafting adventure.

5 thoughts on “Chunky beaded necklace

  1. Pingback: Stuck on you. | life[adjusted]

Leave a Reply

