Four-eyes and gullible

I defended my thesis today! I think it went pretty well, thank God. But that’s part of the reason I haven’t updated; I was busy freaking out about it. Also, I’m wrapping up my internship and preparing to head back to the U.S.ofA in a bit longer than a week, so things have been hectic.

In the midst of all of this, I managed to contract a rather gross eye infection. It turned out to be nothing serious, but I couldn’t wear my contacts or makeup for the past two weeks (my eyesight is horrible).

Actually, that’s not true. I had to get a salve to put on my eye (it sounds as weird as it was) and the infection cleared up within a couple of days. BUT I wasn’t convinced it was completely gone and wanted to make sure before I started wearing contacts again. I blame my father.

When I was 11 I asked my dad if I could get contacts. I think it was about the age that I was transitioning from elementary school into “middle” school, and I thought contacts were appropriate for this new grown-up phase of my life.

His response? “You have to make sure you’re really responsible if you want contacts. If you don’t clean them properly, you can get an infection in your eye and go blind.”

My dad was cruel (just kidding, love you Dad).

I think it took me another three years before I actually got the contacts, and I still have a lingering concern that a side-effect of slight contact misuse is blindness.

Yes, I know how ridiculous that sounds. And yes, I did just defend a masters thesis. I’m that gullible.

I’m also the girl who thought that the lyrics for Eiffel 65’s song “Blue” actually went “I’m blue, if I were green I would die…” and not da-ba-dee-da-ba-die.

Whatever, the former is awesome. And I still totally hear it when I listen to the song, so who knows. :)

One thought on “Four-eyes and gullible

  1. Pingback: Stuck on you. | life[adjusted]

Leave a Reply

