Bachelorette party planning

My good friend, Angela, is getting married next month and I (more-or-less) put myself in charge of planning her bachelorette party. Because I live in Belgium and she and her betrothed are back in Pennsylvania, I wasn’t able to really fulfill my bridesmaid duties when it came to planning and hosting her bridal shower. Since the maid-of-honor and other bridesmaids ended up hosting a lovely party, I wanted to re-pay them by taking care of the details of the bachelorette event (which, if I’m going to be honest, is much more my thing than bridal showers, which I generally find to be insufferably boring).

The planning was pretty easy. Ang wanted to go out for a night of dinner and dancing, and suggested a place in our hometown that is a pretty chic hibachi restaurant by day (and evening) and banging nightclub at night (though this is only what I hear. It’s relatively new, so I never actually have been there). So basically my job is to make invitations, send them out (I’m doing it by e-mail rather than snail-mail since I want to make sure they arrive in plenty of time and international post can be shaky), take care of the reservations, and make sure everyone has a great time.

I don’t know whether or not Ang expects the whole penis-shaped cakes and glasses and straws and all that, but I’m not going to go that route. Mostly because of the venue… we’re not going bar-hopping or to a strip club or comedy club where it’s almost certain that everyone in the establishment is at least over 18. The restaurant is advertised as being “family friendly,” so I don’t really think it’s the place for phallic lollipops. Also — and this is just me — I find it to be a little tacky.

But I did just finish the invitations and I’m really happy with how they came out, though they still need a little tweaking.

I created them in InDesign, which I kind of know how to use. I was going for the whole “sun is setting on Angela’s life as a single gal” but when I showed them to my boyfriend his first reaction was “They look Japanese.” Not really what I was going for, but we are going to a sushi/hibachi place, so it works. What do you think??

2 thoughts on “Bachelorette party planning

Leave a Reply

